New Zealand ASEAN Scholar Awards

The New Zealand ASEAN Schoar Awards (NZAS) recognise New Zealand’s close cultural, economic, and geographic ties with Southeast Asia. They seek to empower individuals with the knowledge, skills and qualifications to contribute to the economic, social, and political development of their region. These scholarships are offered for postgraduate level study only.

NZAS are funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme, the New Zealand Government’s international aid and development programme. They are managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Eligible countries

Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand, Viet Nam

Qualification Types

New Zealand ASEAN Scholarships are available for the following qualifications:

  • Postgraduate Certificate (6 months)
  • Postgraduate Diploma (1 year)
  • Masters Degree (1 – 2 years)
  • PhD (up to 3.5 years)

Applications in the 2017 selection round for study beginning in 2018 are now CLOSED.

For study beginning in 2019, the application round will open early in 2018.